Comfort · Prayer

Fear Not

When I am afraid, I will trust in you.  In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I will not be afraid. Psalm 56:3-4

A good friend of my dad just buried his 48 year old wife. And I thought to myself, I have no idea when will be the last time I see a certain loved one. It was such a scary thought to me. I got what some people might call a small panic attack! Life is so full of surprises (good and bad) that sometimes we’re not prepared for them. As I was dwelling on this fear of losing someone close to me, (especially my spouse or my child) I realized WHAT AM I DOING?! God does not want us living in fear! He wants us to live each day praising Him, rather than be thinking of what could terrible thing could possibly happen today.

Sometimes, when you look around at all the pain and grief, it’s hard not to panic. Especially if you’re one that follows the world news, then panic can really settle in. Forget world news! Sometimes the people who are close by are suffering just as much! Or better yet, you are the one who is going through an extremely tough time. However, that is why we have Jesus in our lives! He is the only one who can give comfort and hope in the midst of all the suffering. Sometimes, we forget just how powerful His love is for us and how much He really cares about our heartaches. The best part about having Jesus, is that we can live each day without fear! Living in prayer, close to God, we can put fear behind us. And to me, that was a comforting thought after panicking as to what horrible event could happen in the future!

Him+Her Talk

What are your “fears”? Pray together that God helps you comfort your fears.

DSC_3581

2 thoughts on “Fear Not

Leave a comment